Skip to main content
Air Liquide
Air Liquide worldwide
Please select

Engineering & Construction


Large projects


Everything you need to know about ISIN codes

If you are a registered shareholder, you have probably noticed that your Air Liquide shares are sometimes identified using mysterious value codes called ISIN codes. Read on to decipher the meaning of these codes!

Yet another code?

That’s right! International Securities Identification Numbers,or ISIN codes, are codes that identify securities.

They are part of an international standard adopted in 2003 for the purpose of allocating unique identifiers to securities, thereby eliminating the risk of error. Before 2003, financial assets were identified in France using Sicovam codes, which were subsequently replaced when ISIN codes were established to make cross-border transactions easier.

ISIN codes contain 12 characters:

  • the first two letters identify the company’s nationality
  • the following nine alphanumeric characters identify the security
  • the final digit is a “check digit” set by an algorithm to help prevent counterfeiting.

At Air Liquide, we have four different ISIN codes!

Why isn’t one ISIN code enough? Having four ISIN codes enables us to take your loyalty bonus rights into account.

As you know, being an Air Liquide registered shareholder for more than two full calendar years unlocks the benefit of a loyalty bonus, which is +10% on the amount of dividends received and on free shares when free shares are allocated.

It was therefore imperative to be able to identify the shares that are entitled to the loyalty bonus

If your shares are registered, your securities will have a temporary ISIN code on January 1st of the following year and are not yet eligible for the loyalty bonus. After 2 years, the temporary code is automatically replaced by a permanent ISIN code, also known as a “bonus” code. This way, you can easily identify the shares in your portfolio that are already earning you a loyalty bonus.

The permanent ISIN codes are:

  • FR0000053951 for registered shares that are already earning the loyalty bonus (purchased or converted to registered shares until 2018).
  • FR0000120073 for securities purchased during the current year that, if registered, will earn the loyalty bonus after two full calendar years.

The current temporary ISIN codes are:

  • FR00140008A4 for shares registered in 2020 that will earn the loyalty bonus in 2023.
  • FR0013459302 for shares registered in 2019 that will earn the loyalty bonus in 2022.

Direct registered shareholders can access their personal online Account and find these codes on their account documents.


Don’t delay, you could be eligible for the loyalty bonus from 2024!

To receive the loyalty bonus in 2024 for shares purchased in 2021:

Direct registered shareholders must have their purchase orders executed before 2:00 p.m. (Paris time) on December 31, 2021 at the latest.

Those who hold bearer shares should send a form to their financial institution requesting their shares be converted to registered shares. The time it takes to process your request may vary depending on your financial institution, so send your request in good time, before December, to be sure that your securities are recorded as registered shares in 2021.

Article published on July 07, 2021